Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the school. The Constitution of the Board is determined by the Ministry of Education and is made up of the following:

  • Five elected Parent representatives (elections are held every three years)
  • Four Proprietor representatives appointed by the RC Bishop of Hamilton
  • The Principal
  • A Staff representative (elections held every three years)
  • A Student representative (elections held annually)

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall direction and supervision of all matters in the College. Our current Strategic Plan can be read here, and the Board Chair's recent end of year speech at Senior Prizegiving can be read here.

A major focus of the board is the strategic direction of the College, with an emphasis on sustaining and improving the excellent standards of teaching and learning. The Board of Trustees is not involved in the day-to-day running of the school. However, there are appropriate systems in place to ensure that the Marist Catholic Character of the College is preserved. 

The Board of Trustees ensure that:

  • Goals, plans and budgets are approved and reviewed
  • Student achievement and outcomes are monitored and reported
  • All students are able to achieve their personal best
  • The College complies with relevant legislation
  • Significant risks are identified, eliminated or reduced
  • Proper accounting and auditing practices are in place
  • Annual reports and financial statements are prepared
  • General maintenance of the school is carried out
  • Management is carried out in a professional and competent manner

We are fortunate at St John's College that excellent relationships exist between the Principal, the Diocese of Hamilton and the Board of Trustees.  This ensures the smooth running of a very successful College.

  • Chairperson: Richard Spelman – Parent representative
  • Deputy Chairperson:  Andrew Webby – Parent representative
  • Tony Fraser-Jones - Proprietor representative
  • Richard Doohan – Proprietor representative
  • Rick Cartmill - Proprietor representative
  • Megan May - Proprietor representative
  • Briar Virtue – Parent representative
  • Kathy Duff - Parent representative
  • Damien Mills - Parent representative
  • Shane Tong – Principal
  • Andrea Dela Rue – Staff representative
  • Arden Morunga - Student representative

Mrs Kaye Tanner-Jones is Secretary to the Board. If you would like further information about the Board of Trustees, please email [email protected] 

School Policies - Login here with username stjohns-hamilton password hillcrest to view the College's policies. if you require the password, please make contact with the College office.

St Johns 2022 Annual Report

Annual Implementation Plan for 2024